Get Alcohol Store Licensing in Florida

The Top Five Frequently Asked Questions for Florida Liquor Licensing

By admin
In March 19, 2019
894 Views

As an individual that wants to acquire Florida Liquor Licensing in the state of Florida, you probably have a lot of questions, which is understandable. Today we’re going to narrow it down to some of the most common whether you are wondering where to get a 4Cop liquor license in Florida or hoping to open a restaurant. Opening a bar or a restaurant can present some serious challenges, but it doesn’t have to be impossible. Keep reading to learn more about the 4Cop liquor license along with several others in the state of Florida.

Types of Licenses: Which Liquor Licensing  Do You Need?

There are two major types of license that you want to look into when you are setting up a shop in the state of Florida which include:

  • Package License –This is a beer and wine license, and it will work out well for you if you don’t want to sell hard liquor because there is no limit on the number allowed in the state of Florida.
  • Quota License –For the sale of liquor you need this type of license but keep in mind that it is limited, and you must meet a strict set of requirements.

To break it down: the license that you choose depends on what you want to sell and where you want to sell it.

What Liquor License Do You Need in a Restaurant?

Great news: in this situation, you can get around the quota license limit for the county! If you own a restaurant or are planning to build one, you can obtain an SRX license which allows you to sell both beer and wine for consumption but only on your premises. The most significant limitation of this license is that you need to pull 51% of your revenue from food. You must be able to provide proof that you meet this requirement and if you cannot, you will not be eligible.  

Liquor Licensing for your Restaurant

Liquor Licensing for your Restaurant

How Much Are You Going to Pay?

There is a wide range of costs associated with a liquor license in Florida, especially if you are purchasing one from a private seller after a lottery drawing. If you are just looking at the base costs; however, the annual license runs from $28 to $1,820 depending on the type of license you want to acquire and the drinks that you want to sell. You can find more information about the cost of each kind of license here.

 

How Long Does It Take to Get Liquor Licensing in Florida?

The age-old question: how long will you be waiting to serve your first drinks to thirsty patrons? The answer: it depends. Ultimately, the type of license that you are buying determines the length of time you must wait. While it could come back sooner, the Division is required by law to process your application within ninety days assuming it has been received and accepted. This rule makes it less likely that they will ‘leave you hanging’ as you try to open your new restaurant or bar.

Can You Transfer to Another County?

If your business isn’t doing well in its current location is it possible for you to move to another location? There are two answers to this question:

  • Beer/Wine License – Yes, you can transfer between counties
    Liquor Licensing for your Bar in Florida

    Liquor Licensing for your Bar in Florida

  • Quota License – No, you cannot transfer to another county due to the limitations in each county. If you need to move your establishment to another county, you must apply for a new license. A great idea for this circumstance would be to sell off your existing license to fund the new one but remember always to check to ensure that the new county’s quota has not been met.

Opening up a bar, restaurant, or even a club can be a challenge, but by filing the right paperwork and hiring a service to help you, you can make the process as painless as possible. With more than fifty years of experience, Liquor License Outlet is ready to help you get where you need to be, serving patrons and customers here in Florida.

Leave A Comment